Everything you want to know about prestigious UPSC


What is UPSC?

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is India‘s central agency which is given the authority to conduct the Civil Services Examination apart from various other reputed exams. If great is the reputation, honor and respect which the exam has, so harder, tricky and challenging is the criteria of judging the same as well. Rightly so, as it is considered to be one of the toughest exams which the country undertakes.ups

UPSC Syllabus:

So, if you want to be a part of this reputed exam and looking for the ongoing upsc syllabus, then here it is.

There are 3 phases which become the basis for the conduct of UPSC Civil Services Exam namely

  • Preliminary Examination or CSAT (Objective Section) – 2 papers take place –  1st General Studies  2nd CSAT (only qualifying needed for 2nd paper which is 33%).
  • Main Examination (Subjective Section).
  • Interview (Vocal Section).

Age Limit: Minimum 21 years.

Qualification: Graduation (Any Stream).

 Percentage: No minimum percentage, as passing marks will do

Attempts: 6 attempts for General Candidates.

Paper 1:

Candidates are supposed to know about the following:-

  • Current events (both national and international)
  • History of India and Indian National Movement
  • Issues concerning Environment and Climate Change
  • Geography both of India and the World
  • Indian Polity and Governance
  • Economic and Social Development

Paper 2:

  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Logical reasoning
  • Problem solving and decision making ability
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy

Candidates passing the UPSC Mains Exam will be called for Personality / Interview. The interview is a regular interactive session solely meant for gauging the mental ability, critical power, intellectual and moral integrity of the candidates. Hope upsc syllabus is going to assist you immensely.

Paper Subjects Total Marks Duration
I General Studies 200 marks 2 hours
II Aptitude Skills 200 marks 2 hours

 IAS Syllabus for Mains – 9 papers take place

IAS exam is officially referred as UPSC Civil Services Exam (CSE). Now, I am letting you know the complete syllabus of Mains for IAS so that you may ease in your journey of becoming IAS officer. Also, that you should face the exam with right and proper frame of mind, guidance much to your happiness and satisfaction later on.

IAS Preliminary Exam

Phase 2 – Mains Examination Syllabus

In this exam, what all matters is the academic talent of the candidates and also the reasoning power. All the exams related with such a reputed position are designed in such a manner that it takes lots of practise, will power, dedication and peace of mind to solve them and to pass with flying colors.

There are 9 papers with qualifying marks of 300 each and amongst the nine subjects, there is an optional one for the candidates to choose from.

  1. Hindi qualifying
  2. English qualifying
  3. Optional subject (2 papers)
  4. G.S (4 papers)
  5. Essay

Total  papers – 9

Candidates after obtaining minimum marks as may set by the commission, enters the final round of interview which is also regarded as “personality test”. Yes, as the post of IAS in itself is highly respected, reputed and responsible one, so through the different rounds of exams, as well as interviews, there is basically a need to test inner capabilities as well as abilities of the individual. Since, a responsible position usually need calm and composed mind which can equally take decisions according to the need of the hour in a split of seconds, and as a result, we can see so many tricky questions which genuinely need polished and skilled brain.

So those of you who are preparing for the exams, here’s wishing everyone Best of Luck. The future of the country is indeed safe in your hands.